A useful feature of git merge is the –no-ff flag. What it does is always generate a merge commit, even if it was a fast-forward (trivial) merge.
The main point of using this feature is avoid losing information about the historical existence of a certain branch, and (to some degree) being able to associate commits with the branches they were created on.
Turns out, this feature existed in Team Explorer for quite some time, but you would never guessed it if you didn’t stumble upon this User Voice entry.
By unchecking the “commit changes after merging” option, you’ll prevent a fast-forward merge and have the ability supply a custom commit message.
Why not just call it ‘prevent fast-forward merge’? 🙂